Monday, September 10, 2012

J M Hochsteler

Crucible of War
American Patriot Series # 4
By J. M. Hochstetler
Brigadier General Jonathan Carleton rejoins General George Washington’s army to find the patriot cause on the verge of extinction. In a daring gamble the American force crosses the Delaware on Christmas night 1776, to defeat outposts at Trenton and Princeton before vanishing into the mountain bastions around Morristown.

Drawn ever deeper into the intrigues that swirl around British General William Howe, Elizabeth Howard and her aunt, Tess, move to Philadelphia in summer 1777 to gather intelligence while waiting for the British attack. Ambushed and almost captured as the Americans dig in at Brandywine Creek, Carleton is transferred to General Horatio Gates’s army in the upper Hudson Valley where British General John Burgoyne closes in on Saratoga. With decisive battles looming, Elizabeth and Carleton face a crucible of war that tests their mettle, faith, and love to the very limits.

An award-winning author and editor, J. M. Hochstetler is the daughter of Mennonite farmers, a graduate of Indiana University, a professional editor, and a lifelong student of history. She is the author of Daughter of Liberty, Native Son, Wind of the Spirit, and Crucible of War, books 1 through 4 of the American Patriot Series, the only comprehensive historical fiction series on the American Revolution. Books 5 through 7 are forthcoming. Her contemporary novel One Holy Night was the Christian Small Publishers 2009 Book of the Year and finalist for the American Christian Fiction Writers 2009 Carol Award.